Talking Poetry With Two Of Canada’s National Treasures

 

MATWOOD

As HOWL is a show about writing, National Poetry Month just begs me to do something special and I wanted to do something special for the first HOWL of National Poetry Month on CIUT 89.5FM. Someone got me a line on Margaret Atwood. I always have Wayne Gretzky’s voice in my head when it comes to approaching guests for HOWL: “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” So there it was I took it, and within two days Margaret responded in the affirmative. I wanted to try and work it out to get her into the studio I first suggested April 4, and she said that she could call in because she was at Purdue in the United States. The only other show I host in April is on the 18th, and I had suggested that date for her to come in, but she said that day she was out of town promoting “The Handsmaid Tale.” So a phone call it was. For those of you hearing nervousness in my voice throughout the interview, I’m sorry I didn’t do a better job of hiding it. I was of course very hard on myself for that, but at the same time I am so grateful to have talked to her, and there were some really brilliant moments. I like that Margaret challenged me, the questions I asked her in some cases she asked me to expand on them, I made her laugh twice during the interview, she read a really great poem about her favourite sci-fi movies, and she shared some wonderful insights about being a poet in Canada now, versus the 60s. I don’t know if I’ll get the chance to talk to Margaret again, here’s hoping yes, but in the mean time I’m proud that I could welcome her to HOWL for you and I to learn and be inspired by.
The Handmaid’s Tale will be available in Canada through Bravo and Crave TV, to watch the trailer please click this link:

‘The Handmaid’s Tale’: Watch the new full-length trailer

I wanted to keep the momentum going for National Poetry Month and I thought who better than to talk National Poetry Month with Canada’s Parliamentary Poet Laureate George Elliott Clarke. This was Dr.Clarke’s third appearance on HOWL, and he came in studio bringing the same glorious energy, and perspective that he always does. Our conversation was fun, but as always introspective. George let us know how things are going as far as him being our National Laureate goes, he teased us and gave us a glimpse into his epic poetry from “Canticles I (Guernica Editions), talked about how we are living between Shakespearean and Greek Tragedy times, and told us what he does to keep himself so ever prolific. George will be back with me again later in the year to talk to us about a love poetry festival happening in the summer.

George Elliott Clarke will be appearing on Wednesday April 26, 2017 as part of “Slovenian Bards, & Friends.” Wednesday April 26, 2017 – 7pm – FREE EVENT

To buy George Elliott Clarke’s new book “Canticles I from the publisher, please click this link:

https://www.guernicaeditions.com/title/9781550719123

To hear the latest HOWL show on CIUT 89.5FM with guests Margaret Atwood, and George Elliot Clarke please click the below link and scroll to the bottom of the show page. For the next week you have the option of streaming the show from the player, or downloading a copy to keep forever.

Your listenership and support is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

http://www.ciut.fm/shows-2/spoken-word/howl/

Leave a Reply

